Friday, December 16, 2011

Colorado Triple Crown Kit

The RMCC is very proud to present our new Colorado Triple Crown cycling kit!

Members of the RMCC have been riding the original events of the Colorado Triple Crown--Joe Lookingbill Denver-to-Aspen Classic, Colorado Death Ride, and the Grand Loop--since the club's inception in 1993 as preparation for longer ultracycling events. We didn't formally organize the events into the Colorado Triple Crown until 2009.  To date, there are only 13 riders in RMCC history who have successfully completed all three of these events in a single calendar year. The list of Colorado Triple Crown finishers includes:

Rex Farnsworth: pre-2009
Carol Hvrada: pre-2009
Charlie Henderson: pre-2009
Michael Henderson: 2011
Andrea Koenig: 2009
Gary Lancaster: 2011
Mark Lowe: 2009, 2011
Jerry Mack: pre-2009
John Mangin: 2009
Tom Miller: 2011
Patrick Nourse: 2009
Ray Rupel: 2009
Dick Wiss: 2009

(*The Grand Loop was cancelled in 2010 because of road construction on Trail Ridge Road. Because of this, there were no official Colorado Triple Crown finishers in 2010.)

To recognize our Colorado Triple Crown finishers for their accomplishments, Jeff Wu and Clair Lochridge at Team Alchemist in Boulder helped us design a new Colorado Triple Crown cycling kit for our Triple Crown finishers. Team Alchemist is Boulder's finest custom cycling clothing designer, and Jeff and Clair did a stellar job on our design...very classy! Thanks to Jeff and Clair for their hard work on our Triple Crown kit!!! Additionally, we would like to thank Hammer Nutrition, whose donation helped make this possible. Look for these kits out on the road by spring 2012!

Congratulatons to all of our Triple Crown finishers!

We're hoping that more of you will attempt to be come Colorado Triple Crown finishers in 2012!!!